Create temporary decrypted files in the folder of the encrypted file

I’m new to this encryption ‘game’ and am finding Kleopatra educational as well as of practical use.

I assume that the methods used by K are ‘best practice’ and if I disagree it means I do not properly understand the process.

There seems to be two options: for K to decrypt into the user’s work folder or by the setting of this option, to put the decrypted file into the source file folder.

My concern is that surely both these locations open up the possibility of exposing the decrypted file unnecessarily.

In particular, putting the temp decrypted file in the same folder as the encrypted file seems a particularly bad choice. That folder is likely to be totally unsecured.

Surely the best option would be place the work file in the same folder as the output location - or rather don’t create a temp file at all.

I have seen some posts end 2017/ beginning 2018 where it seems what I am suggesting was in fact the original method.

It looks to me that security has been overlooked in the interests of a potential speed increase.

If my understanding is right, then really we at least need an option to only decrypt directly into the target folder - allowing the user to decide how to deal with security on his own PC.

My suggestion would be to:

1. Allow selection from three options on the settings page
  2. Add a screen before the pin-entry with the three options shown and default selected

Hi Les,

overall the recommendation is to only work with crypto in directories and on filesystem
which you can trust (up to the level you need it).

A temporary file is needed technically because files can be really big and may not fit into the memory. Too many options may confuse users. Maybe an improvement is possible, if
we can describe the use case in greater detail.

Regards,
Bernhard

I take the point about the need for a temporary file.