Where is my private key?

Hello,
I am new to this, so please bear with me. I have installed GPG4Win just to do symmetric encryption, i.e., without exchanging public keys. Just a password attached to the encrypted file meets my needs. It works perfectly.

Now I am preparing for the next step – to use it directly within an email system. I have 2 choices: use GPGOL (for Microsoft Outlook on Windows) or Claws.

Regardless (although I am leaning to Claws) I know I will need to use key pairs with people whom I will be emailing with and who also have GPG. I know where to export my public key. But where is my Privatye Key? I understand it’s “just there” and KLEO will handle it all for me, which is fine.

But I need to backup my Key Pair and I can’t seem to find this feature within KLEO. I recall that during the first installation, towards the end, KLEO asked me to do a backup of my Key Pair – and I did. But I can’t seem to remember where I copied the backup to – it must be to some USB flash drive.

Is there a way to do another backup of my existing Key Pair, rather than generate a new one? This is because I’ve already sent out my Public Key to 2 or 3 persons.

Thanking you in advance.
Sincerely,
R. Tan

AFAIK there is no private key with symmetric encryption. There’s just the one public key that both encrypts and decrypts. So it’s unsuitable for email encryption which uses asymmetric encryption. In that case your public key only encrypts and your private key decrypts, so your public key can be circulated to others for them to send encrypted emails to you, which.you can then decrypt with your private key.

Thank you Mr Benson – I understand everything you’ve stated in your response.
I am preparing to use Claws email or Microsoft Outlook. When I get to that, I will be using my public key for others to encrypt emails to send to me, and then my private key will atuomatically decrypt these emails to me. That is clear.