Complete Newbie desperatly seeking help

First off I dont use command line of any sort, Interact mostly using the GPA part of the gpg4win download,

I did a system reset and did no save my files because I believed I had my prive keys backed up in .asc files (which I did).

Somehow or another one of the files must have gotten corupt because even though the two files (I haad two keys) were identicle accept for the name, only one would import and of course its not the one I need.

Now I somehow have the needed private key in a different format its title is 40alphnumeric digits with a .key file extension. OF course it wont import directly but when I open this file in word pad it starts out like (21:protected-private-key(3:rsa(1:n257: and then goes onto the encoding. SO obviously I am trying to see if I can import that file somehow in order to regain access to my private key?

This is of immediate urgent importance so anyone who can help I would greatly appreciate

Hi Chris,

if you have files starting with (21:protected-private-key( those are probably the ones that contain your private key material in the “new” format as used by gpg-agent (the component that reads the private key stuff).

Here are technical instructions how to recover from there:
https://lists.gnupg.org/pipermail/gnupg-users/2016-December/057246.html
(only the first part)

Short:

• Create a new set of directories (like with running gpg -l on the command line)
  • Place the files in the right directory private-keys-v1.d
  • Reimport your public keys from somewhere, if you haven’t.

Hope this helps you!