Certify certificate created by other user

Hello- I am new to kleopatra and have run into the following, I still do not know if this is an issue or not.

user 1 created a key pair for encryption purposes. The user 1 cannot certify their own key for everyone it is grayed out ( what/why is causing this?)

User 2 will be used to run encrypt/decypt steps but we need to sign the file as the key created by user 1 how do we go about this task ? In the test environment this worked but in another dev it is saying user 2 needs to create own keypair to certify other cert.

The cert created by user 1 does have a passphrase coudl that be used to certify by user 2 if so how we do we go on about this ?

Hello,
welcome to Gpg4win and Kleopatra!

user 1 cannot certify their own key for everyone

A keypair that you create is automatically signed by your own private key.
So you cannot indicate something more to others.

but we need to sign the file as the key created by user 1 how do we go about this task ?

Can you describe in more detail what you are trying to do?
In a public key crypto setup, your need the private key to decrypt data, but not more.

The cert created by user 1 does have a passphrase coudl that be used to certify by user 2 if so how we do we go on about this ?

(We are talking OpenPGP key, aren’t we?)

User 1 can use their private key to sign the public keys of others, e.g. to sign the public key of user2. The first advantace of this is that in users 1’s keystore, the signed public key of user 2 is trusted to belong to user 2. (A second advantage would appear if this signature is given to others. A few years ago, public keyservers would be used for this, but this is currently not possibible.)

Hope I could help at least a bit.

Regards,
Bernhard

Hello- Thanks for the response.