Kleopatra- Importing Certificates

Hi all. I am a little confused about how I import public keys. I have a public key, but it is text I got from a website, not a file. Is there anyone who can tell me how I can save it as a file to kleopatra will recogonize?

Hello,

I am new to GPG4Win but suggest you try the ff:

• I assume you have a file, or even an email message - that contains the public key in ASCII text. I also assume you want to be able to send - by email - this public key to someone or some server. According to the GPG4Win, you don’t necessarily have to send it as a file attachment. You can send it as if it were an email. Also assume you are in the M Windows environment.
    • I have attached pages 60-61 of the GPG4Win manual, which will be useful for this purpose. I’ve highlighted in yellow background the key portions on these pages.
    • On the assumption that (1) above is true and is what I think it is, you should do a Copy and Paste. Open the file in (1), then do a Copy [i.e., Copy of Windows which is to the clipboard].

Before you execute the next step, prepare your email system so that you are already at the screen for typing and sending a specific email. Make sure that you haven’t typed anything into the message portion of the email. You can type data into the TO:, CC: and SUBJECT: fields but leave the actual message portion empty.

• Now Paste it (what you just Copied to the clipboard in Step (3)) into your email which is to be sent to someone or to some web server.

Warning – be very precise when you do the Copy command. Follow the instructions on page 61 (I’ve highlighted in yellow background).

Hope this works.

Pages 60-61 from gpg4win-compendium-en.pdf (142 KB)

Hello again,

In rereading your email I missed your statement that you want to be able to “give it” (it = the public key) to Kleopatra. In this case, all you need to do is copy and paste (as outlined in my earlier response) to a TXT file with a name that has the .ASC file type.